New Mobile HQ Coming Soon!

Beautiful Bus

Behold the Beautiful Bus! This 30′ beast will soon be my new home in between gigs. With a few hours’ work it will be roadworthy, rainworthy, winterworthy, and if I get realllllllly bored, I’ll stick it on a couple of pontoons and make it seaworthy as well!

This will enable me to travel from place to place without depending on a patchwork of public and private buses, ferries, taxis, and the like. And it will mean I don’t have to haul three suitcases and a backpack all over the back of beyond, too, so I’m excited about that.

She’s 80% off the grid, with solar power and a rocket stove with a full kitchen and home-built hot water system. I’ll get a thermal converter to turn excess heat into electricity. It’s got a router for wifi, but ultimately I’d like to spend that $1,500 to set up a satellite system so I can actually provide wifi to people around me at camps and events. It’s also got a bathtub, but I’m thinking of turning one of the belly bins into a pull-out bathtub. We shall see how fancy I want to get here, since I don’t know how to weld. And given the sunshine on the Wet Coast, a wind turbine rather than solar looks to be the way to go.

I also want to clear up the windows and maximize natural light inside, and perhaps put shoji sliders or curtains in to break up the space. Oh, the space? Enough to stand tall inside, as wide as my first apartment, and spacious enough to fit two king size beds.

Ultimately, I’d like to get her down to DEFCON or HOPE and let the hackers have at her with their ideas. And at some point do a great dazzle camouflage paint job.

What’s dazzle camouflage? This:

Gloire dazzle camouflage

The plan is to talk to a few people on Vancouver Island about possibly putting her on their hobby farms and small market gardens, and paying either in labour or in actual monies now that I’m freelancing to some pretty swanky places.

I’ve also been gifted a three-wheeler, the adult trike kind with the basket in the back between the wheels. Perfect for cycling a few kilometres into the town.

For now, I’m trying to untangle the paperwork on this beauty, with an eye to getting it road-ready by the end of May. Wish me luck!

If you’re looking for a pet-sitter, house-sitter, farm-sitter, check out our Services page and use the contact form there to get in touch. If you’d like to be a real pal, download and print our Flyer and put it up at your local vet, groomer, or pet food store.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. @feesable says:

    LUCK! and joy and adventures and oh-so-many-things! #buslife is such an amazing life, regardless of its sacrifices and struggles. so very excited for you and the journeys ahead, can’t wait to see them unfold! xx

  2. raincoaster says:

    Thanks, I can’t wait to get my paws on this monster!

Leave a Reply

