Top Tip: Snap Your Stove!

Sounds nutty, I know, but this suggestion, found over on the ever-useful Lifehacker, will save you hours of worry the next time you’re on a trip. Assuming you’re a worrier, of course; worriers have enough to worry about with travel itself. They don’t need to come bolt awake at 3am wondering if they shut off the stove.

The suggestion is simply this: take a photo of anything you might leave on.

 before leaving the house, take a photo of your stove and oven dials—or your thermostat, or your iron, or anything else you worry about accidentally leaving on. If your brain starts to play the “Did I really turn it off” game, you can simply tap your photo app and see for yourself.

Brilliant, simple, and the act of going around your house snapping things automatically means you’re doing a careful once-over before leaving, which is always a good idea.

I once nearly missed my bus back to Vancouver from the Okanagan because I couldn’t remember if I’d shut the tap off in the house. Fortunately there was a signal at the bus stop and I could call the vineyard manager and got him to check on it for me. Whew. But this would have saved me an hour of cold sweat at the side of a highway in the depths of a Canadian winter.

 

If you’re looking for a pet-sitter, house-sitter, farm-sitter, check out our Services page and use the contact form there to get in touch. If you’d like to be a real pal, download and print our Flyer and put it up at your local vet, groomer, or pet food store.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Oh boy! I think this just feeds into compulsive behaviour. My technique is to mentally say (not out loud, but you can do that too) as I am checking, the stove is off, the toilet flushed and whatever worries a mind. Done. Gone. Forget it.

    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

